In Good Times and Bad


An entry for Flash! Friday vol. 2-41. This week’s prompt was to include a marriage proposal, and the photo prompt was Krak des Chevaliers/Qalat al-Hosn, Syria. CC photo by Jon Martin, shown.

Few Americans would call Syria home, but that’s life in the Agency. I can navigate Homs better than DC. That castle across the way is five hundred years older than my hometown… and Annapolis was founded by Puritans.

My only regret is all those nights that Christian spent alone, while I was here spying on some unpronounceable terrorist group. I was stunned when she agreed to elope. Maybe she was just happy that I proposed.

She was less enthusiastic about the honeymoon destination, until she saw the view from the hotel room. Working for the Agency has its perks.

For example, through the Agency I learned of the alien invasion fleet approaching Earth.

That castle’s stone walls may not stand up to whatever weapons the aliens may wield, but I bet it lasts longer than the White House.

Christian approaches me from behind, and I smile.

“I want to spend the rest of my life with you.”

One thought on “In Good Times and Bad

What did you think of this page?

